Guess Who’s Back?

Hi all!

It’s been a while since my last post. I’m now a married woman! I was so busy planning my wedding that my hobbies took the backseat for a while. I’ve been married for almost two months now, and it still doesn’t feel real. Everyone always ask’s “how’s married life” but honestly, nothing has changed. We were both pretty happy to just ‘get it over with’. Planning a wedding and having a wedding createsΒ a huge amount of stress that I never wanted in the first place, but for personal reasons we opted to have a wedding. It’s not to say that I didn’t want to get married, but if it were up to me, weΒ would’ve eloped. We have chosen to renew our vows next year as a redo and have it the way we intended – intimate, and private (and somewhere fun)!

More importantly, everyone always ask’s how the wedding was and it’s an embarrassment to say that I didn’t enjoy it. My husband loved every bit of it, but so many people wanted my attention, that I just couldn’t relax and have any fun. I had one drink at my entire wedding, and the by the end of the night I was in tears. “It’s My Party” by Lesley Gore is my anthem. I had a relative who shall remain anon push people in front of me forcing them to dance so that the photographer could catch it… This said relative also yelled at me on my wedding day and was angry that I didn’t have a dinner prayer and tried to force another relative to initiate a prayer before our cake cutting – which was not in the program (tbh, husband and I don’t practice). It’s just frustrating when people can’t let you have your moment. This relative thought they were doing what I wanted, but they don’t actually know me that well. It’s strange to think someone can show up at your wedding and try to take it hostage, that’s just inappropriate and rude.

By the end of the night, my new husband and I were dealing with the whirlwind of emotions that happened in what felt like the blink of an eye. We ended up inviting our wedding party and our siblings back to our honeymoon suite. We had the groomsman bring our leftover kegs to the hotel, and how they managed to sneak them past security is beyond me. They rode the kegs in like a horse after they put it on a luggage cart and were racing down the hallway with them and into our room. We enjoyed the company of our friends as we drank what we could until we passed out (we still couldn’t polish off those kegs). The next morning our hotel room smelled like stale beer. Oops! We did our best to clean up and luckily we weren’t the ones footing the bill. Apologies to my dad, if there were some additional charges for cleanup fees.

My photographer however, was able to catch some of the more memorable moments, which is exactly what I had asked for. Believe it or not, my photographer had never photographed a wedding before, but he did a phenomenal job. At the last minute, the person we hired for our wedding video told us he couldn’t do photos and video, so we had to hire a friend. We trusted our photographer because he has photographed events before, and his photos were excellent. He also cut us a sweet deal because of the chaos our videographers had put us through. In the end, I’m happy to at least have photos to look back on with happy memories, and I’m super excited for the wedding video!

Brady Wedding Ceremony 2016 (32).JPGThis is one of my favorite photos of my dad walking me down the aisle.

Brady Wedding Ceremony 2016 (62).jpgThis is my favorite of us as we were just pronounced Mr. and Mrs. Brady

Brady Wedding Intermission 2016 (48).JPGWe had our wedding in Akron, OH – our hometown. We really wanted our photos to capture ‘urban’

Brady Wedding Reception (65).JPGProbably my favorite part of the whole shindig – Swensons!Β 

Brady Wedding Reception (209).JPGWe had our guests take selfies with polaroids – this was our form of a ‘guest book’

Brady Wedding Reception (40).JPG…and that’s a wrap, cheers!

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 11.29.33 PM

Leave a Reply

